Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

An Interview with Barbara J. Olexer

Barbara J. Olexer

Barbara J. Olexer

Originally an Oregon native, Maryland based Barbara J. Olexer is a talented writer with a flair for history and for righting the wrongs of the past. Through her own company, Joyous Publishing, she has published books on a broad range of historical and other subjects. She is particularly interested in American society’s past negative relationship the native Americans. She doesn’t feel that this past is fully behind us, pointing to the Leonard Peltier case as a prime example. I am happy to have been given the opportunity to speak with Barbara.

Gary Dale Cearley: Thanks for letting me interview you! I can’t help but notice that much of your work shows a very strong interest in historical subjects. You and I have this in common. Where did this interest come from?

Barbara: My home town is on the bed of a lake that was drained to make homesteads for World War I veterans. As I grew up, I learned that my grandparents’ farm had once been a lake and that the Modoc Indians had been forced off their homeland around the lake. The more I learned about the injustice of the war that the settlers and the U.S. Army waged on this tiny tribe, the more fascinated I became with the history of mankind.

Gary Dale Cearley: Did you know from when you were a little girl that you wanted to write or did you wake up one day and find that there was a project in you that you just had to get out and then it flowed on from there

Barbara: I’ve always known I wanted to write. I remember “writing” letters to my favorite uncle when he was in the navy in World War II and I was three years old. In later years, he told me how much my scribbles meant to him at sea in the Pacific Theatre because, although there were no actual words, he could read the love I sent him. From there I drew comic books with my crayons and then started a school newspaper when I was in 6th grade, progressed to essays, then to screenplays, then to nonfiction and novels.

Gary Dale Cearley: How did you get Joyous Publishing involved in writing contests?

Barbara: It seemed a good and inexpensive way to get some name recognition. It has been good for my business and I’m hoping it will continue to grow. Those who enter find it useful, too.

Gary Dale Cearley: Who judges the writing?

Barbara: I do the preliminary judging and when I’ve winnowed out the ones I don’t find publishable, my husband and a couple of day job co-workers read the possibilities and score them. Our tastes are very different so I feel confident that the judging is as objective as such a subjective process can be.

Gary Dale Cearley: Every non-fiction author choses their subject matter in different ways. How do you chose the topics you write on?

Barbara: My writing reflects my passions. For instance, I feel very keenly that we, as a nation, need to address the on-going injustice inflicted on the tribes. We need to look at the treaties we signed with them and live up to the provisions. We need to acknowledge in our history books that the Indians were not the original aggressors. Obviously, Euro-Americans and the other hyphenated Americans are not going to go away and return the land to the tribes. However, we can honor our treaties and we must.

Gary Dale Cearley: How do you go about the research for your projects?

Barbara: I don’t have the resources to do original research, which is expensive and requires travel and time that I simply am unable to manage. Therefore, my research is limited to what I can find in secondary sources — mostly books that I get from the library. Oddly enough, this was much easier when I lived on a farm in Oregon than it is in Maryland. The Northwest has a system of interlibrary lending that allowed me to get rare books from various states and Canadian provinces and even the Library of Congress. Now it’s difficult to get books even from another Maryland county.

Gary Dale Cearley: What in your background has helped your to write about early American history?

Barbara: Truth is important to me. There is so much nonsense written about American history and so many outright lies that it enrages me. This makes me want to set the record straight.

Gary Dale Cearley: I noticed that Joyous Publishing specializes in large print publishing. How did that come about?

Barbara: It seemed to me that my fiction audience is about my age, which is the first wave of “boomers.” Large print is helpful to many folks in this age bracket.

Gary Dale Cearley: You and I have another thing in common which is the diversity of the subjects that we write about. The first book I published as a non-fiction work about a religious hoax, the second was a book about bawdy Southern humor – almost a joke book in and of itself, and my current project is the life story of a libertarian philosopher and abolitionist in the early 19th century in America. I see you range from writing on historical subject, mysteries and astrology. How do you tie this all in together?

Barbara: It all ties together in my search for truth and my curiosity regarding humankind. I like to read mysteries so it is a natural progression to wish to write them. Astrology is generally lumped in with “New Age,” on the fringe of the paranormal, somewhere between comical and idiotic. However, if one examines it with an open mind, there’s a lot of truth in it. I think every major civilization has an astrological system and they are remarkably similar. I just had a brief reading in the Mayan system and found it very accurate as to my character.

Gary Dale Cearley: I want to thank you for taking the time to be interviewed and answering my questions! But before we go, can you tell us what projects are you currently working on and what can we expect to see from you in the near future?

Barbara: Presidential Education: Prelude to Power is my current project. I’m almost finished with the research and I hope to have it ready to publish by fall this year. Our presidents are remarkable men and the way each was educated is fascinating, not only for what they learned but sometimes for what they didn’t learn. I find it astounding that the Founding Fathers didn’t lay down much at all in the way of necessary characteristics for our presidents. There is no qualifying exam.

One response to “An Interview with Barbara J. Olexer

  1. Burnell February 24, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I am glad I found your site on digg. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my roommate were just preparing to do some research about this. I am very glad to see such reliable information being shared freely out there.
    Regards,
    Drury from Tempe city

Leave a Reply

