Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

So I made the list!

I just saw that I am on a list of books that someone read this year. That someone was actually someone I know: Mihnea Voicu Simandan

Even though I know Mihnea it still was a bit of a charge to unexpectedly see my book on his list – and to see that he rated it four stars out of five. The book that Mihnea read was my first publication, Thou Shalt Not Bear False Witness: The Truth about the Vatican and the Birth of Islam. These unexpected plugs can definitely give you a charge. At least you know you are getting read and that people are mentioning you. Sometimes we all need a charge like this. Word of mouth publicity I have found to be the very best form of publicity simply because it is the most sincere. Mihnea himself is a writer so I also sincerely hope that mentioning him here will also help him to get a little more light shined on his work.

Another thing I liked about Mihnea’s list is that other authors who I know personally also made the list. Maclean J Storer’s Forward O Peasant was there as well as A.D. Thompson’s Diner Dharma, for which I even wrote a blurb that appears on the book. (If you are keeping score, Mihnea seemed to like my book better than Diner Dharma and not as much as Forward O Peasant. Where would we be without keeping score?)

Anyway, this kind of gives me a charge to go out and write some more this weekend.

4 responses to “So I made the list!

  1. mvs December 31, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Hi Gary,

    It’s difficult to compare “Thou Shalt…’ with “Diner…” and “Forward…”. They belong to three different genres.

    Happy writing!

  2. Culby February 1, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Agree with mvs. “Thou Shalt…” gives one reason to think. “Forward…” gives one reason to laugh milk out their nostrils if they happen to be reading it in a cafeteria. I’ve got to read Bawdeville as I’m certain is has the same effect as the latter.

Leave a Reply

