Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

If you enjoy writing does it matter whether you are any good or not?

Or one might ask conversely, if no one reads you is there any reason to write?

I would say “yes” for several reasons. Probably too many to go over here in this write up. But let me give one example…

How many times have you found an intriguing blog entry that you read which was written purely by an amateur who stopped writing his last entry over two years ago but when you read this piece you get angry because you wish the author hadn’t given up the blog? (Pardon the run on sentence.)

Think about that one and I think you’ll rest my case for me.

One response to “If you enjoy writing does it matter whether you are any good or not?

  1. wilsonhines March 11, 2011 at 12:34 am

    All the time.

    I sure wish you would come back. I found you while doing some Hemingway research. I am an American undergrad student minoring in English Lit, majoring in History; I am also 37 years old.

Leave a Reply

