Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

I took Benny Lewis’s advice and got the Kindle Keyboard 3G

Like so many others I never wanted to “give up” on books but I have been thinking more and more about it since getting my iPhone. I fell in love with the iBooks application and within a few weeks I was convinced to the new Kindle Fire which is coming out soon but when I was in New Orleans recently I had lunch with Benny Lewis who convinced me that the Kindle Keyboard 3G is a damned good way to go. Oddly enough, talk about law of attraction, a week later I was visiting my aunt in Springhill, Arkansas, and my cousin, Nick Hammond, told me that he won this exact model but he doesn’t read much so he never even opened the box. I couldn’t believe my luck! I asked him what he’d sell it to me for and he said fifty bucks. Fifty bucks? Done deal! I was just hoping that he didn’t re-think it and back out. Actually, he told me that several people had offered him money for the Kindle but none ever came through on it. Not me. As soon as Nick said fifty bucks my hand was in my back pocket reaching for my wallet.

Now I am looking for ways to get books that I already have into the Kindle. Believe me, you will be sure to hear more about this Kindle experience in the future. So stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

