Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

Keepin’ to it

Every small progress is just that: progress

I have recently been reading Upton Sunclair’s The Jungle. I have been reading it on my Kindle app on my iPhone over lunch. Of course I am not able to do this every day because there are times that I have lunch with other people or I stay in the office to have lunch, but I have set a daily reminder at noon to read this book.

So what’s so special about this? Maybe nothing to you but to me it was a small private goal. I remember reading about this book when I was in high school and wondering why a book about working at a meat packing plant would be considered a classic in American literature but in all the reading over the past few decades I have always avoided sitting down with this book. There were always excuses or reasons to put other books ahead of it. I decided finally to put this book to rest, once and for all. So I’m doing it bit by bit and in a schedule.

I’m about to apply the same method to finishing two book projects that have been up in the air with me for some time.

It all reminds me of the old African proverb…

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

Leave a Reply

