Independent Writing from an Independent Mind

Open discussion about writing and reading

Wandering according to plan

I sometimes wonder which is better: Writing with a plan and purpose or writing aimlessly, only clarifying one’s thoughts as one goes along.

To be quite honest I do both. Sometimes alternately and sometimes at the same time.

I find that I naturally make my points much stronger when I make an outline of what I’m going to write and stick with it. When I write aimlessly I find that the product is richer and more interesting

Should I ultimately chose one style over the other?

Should I work at marrying the two styles?

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to answer those questions.

Leave a Reply

